Sam Poo Kong

SAM poo

My second week in Indonesia and my first week on my own with Joel back at work, I decided it was time to start being in a tourist in my new city.  My first stop was Sam Poo Kong, the oldest Chinese temple in Semarang. The temple has beautiful examples of both Chinese and Javanese architecture.

second edi66

Second edit1

The temple was bustling with tourists and kids on field trips the day I visited.  Being the only westerner in the complex will get you lots of attention.  Throw some pale skin and red hair into the mix and it only amplifies.  Here’s my little entourage of girls who followed me for the better part of an hour giggling and yelling, “Hello Miss!”

two horizon

One thought on “Sam Poo Kong”

Leave a Reply

