What I’ve been up to

Crochet frames | PTX Studio

Crochet frames | PTX Studio

Crochet frames | PTX Studio

Crochet frames | PTX Studio

Crochet frames | PTX Studio

Crochet frames | PTX Studio

Crochet frames | PTX Studio

Crochet frames | PTX Studio

 

Crochet frames | PTX Studio

A year and a half away from my sewing machine has been quite the challenge, but I’ve been keeping my crafty hands busy with crochet projects.   While walking through a little antique market in Kota Lama, I saw a small book of old black and white photos.   The photos were only about 2×3 inches and weren’t in great shape; some even burnt around the edges.  Nonetheless, I found them fascinating and new immediately that I wanted to crochet them into a yarn frame.  After seeing the booklet in the stall on two different occasions, I asked the seller for a price.  He wanted something like $15 US dollars which I thought was astronomically expensive considering the condition of the photos and the fact that that’s more than I would pay for a steak dinner in these parts.  Joel helped me bargain him down a bit and I think we got the photos for around $9.

Since then I’ve been on the lookout for more old black and white pictures and had some good scores at Pasar Triwindu in Solo, as well as an antique store in Port Townsend, WA while we were in the US last summer.  I’ve also recently started printing out personal images to crochet as gifts, case in point the last image which is a gift for one of my bridesmaids.

I’m not sure what I intend to do with these (keep or sell?), but it’s been a fun project that I hope to continue working on as time permits.  However since we’re returning to the US soon and I’ll be getting my things out of storage, the crochet projects might have to go on the back burner while I make up for lost time with my beloved sewing machine.

Leave a Reply

